Favourite Red Lipsticks

This post was suggested to me by Cat who blogs over at My Lip Addiction. As you can probably guess from the name of her blog lip products are her weakness, a woman after my own heart! I don’t know what it is about lipstick but for me it completes a makeup look. Different colours represent moods and how you’re feeling on a certain day and I love that.

Red lipstick makes me feel confident and bold and shows a fun, playful side of my personality. Up until three years ago I steered clear of red lipstick, not because I didn’t like it but I hadn’t tried it before and thought it would clash with my red hair – it totally doesn’t! Now a few years on I wouldn’t be without red lipstick, it is a timeless classic and every lady needs at least one in her makeup bag.

Christmas is coming up and if you want some red lip inspiration, look no further!

#1. Rimmel 107 – I purchased this beauty in March 2015 and it is one of my favourites from my entire lipstick collection! It is the perfect berry lipstick with hints of plum, cranberry and wine. The formula is matte but it’s not as drying as other matte lipsticks I’ve tried. Normally I apply Dainty Doll’s Wonderbalm before applying this and it keeps my lips from drying out. The pigmentation is superb and the colour applies beautifully and evenly. If you’re a Zoella fan, this is also one of her faves!

#2. MAC Ruby Woo – If I could only recommend one red lipstick to you it would be Ruby Woo. The hype and love for this shade is real because it is pretty much the perfect red. This red has been made to make teeth look whiter and once this shade is on the lips it gives them a velvety look. Out of the four lipsticks in this post it has the most drying formula but it’s nothing a lip balm underneath doesn’t fix. The colour lasts all day and the lip balm helps keep the lipstick in place and prolong wear time.

#3. Bourjois – Frambourjoise – This shade is more of a raspberry red and has pink undertones but it is still an absolutely gorgeous colour! I was intrigued by the formula and inspired to try these by Anna from The Anna Edit on YouTube – (previously Vivanna Does Makeup). The formula is a mousse-type texture and it doesn’t dry matte straight away so you’ve got time to apply multiple coats if you need and make sure application is even. I’m a perfectionist and like to make sure there is the same amount of product and colour on each lip. I like the small applicator as well, it allows for precision and gets right in to the corners of your mouth.

#4. Smashbox – Bawse – I won Bawse in a giveaway hosted by Nerdy Librarian Girl in 2016 and it is a very bold, don’t mess with me‘ red. Bawse is a collaboration between Smashbox and Canadian YouTuber Lilly Singh and I flippin’ love it! The packaging is simple but nice and the doe foot applicator is easy to use. It is bigger than Frambourjoise’s applicator and isn’t as precise but one coat of Bawse is enough, there is no need to touch up certain areas. I would say the formula is drier than Frambourjoise’s as well but both dry down to very comfortable, wearable mattes which last throughout the day.

Lipsticks In Action:

Left To Right, Top To Bottom: Rimmel 107, Ruby Woo, Frambourjoise and Bawse.


What’s your favourite red lipstick?

signature_59rnt66ifetkuap2w9

Follow me:

Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

19 thoughts on “Favourite Red Lipsticks

  1. stashy says:

    When I was at the Bite Beauty Lab as Cat’s guest to create my custom lipstick, I knew that I had to make a classic red. She definitely supported that! 😀
    You suit red so well! My pick out of the 4 shown is definitely Rimmel #107! 💋

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chanelle says:

      I remember that post and thinking what a fun experience that would have been! Do you wear your red shade much? If I could only have one of these shades I don’t know which I’d pick 😛

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.