Desk Organisation

Desk OrganisationHappy Friday lovelies! Today’s post is one I’ve been meaning to do for a while but I just hadn’t got around to it before now. I’ve had the idea for this post for well over a month and I FINALLY got around to tidying my desk last weekend. I wanted to show you the before and after – hopefully you can guess the image above is the before!

My desk is used more like a table in that I don’t really sit at it and work from it. My desk also doubles as a bedside table as it’s right next to my bed. I store stationary and other bits and pieces in the desk drawers.

I’m a stickler for having physical copies of CDs so mine take up quite a bit of space on my desk. I have a rack which holds 48 CDs and the others are stored in a wooden crate.

CDsSpot my mini autobiography collection too 😉

Planning my weeks out and keeping track of what I eat is something I’ve really gotten into over the past year or so. I have a section at my desk for my Filofax and my food diary. My Filofax is a Personal Domino Patent in Hot Pink and I use Typo’s A5 spinout notebooks for my food diaries. I also have a journal with lined pages that I received as a birthday present from one of my teachers back in 2013. I have been saving it until I know what I want to use it for.

Planning Essentials Left to Right: Filofax, journal, food diary.

Before and AfterAs you can see everything is relatively in the same place but neater. I got rid of the stack of paper on top of my autobiographies, only kept what was important in the white metal magazine holder and moved my camera box and charger. I’ve placed my Vanilla Creme candle near the center of my desk so when it’s lit it won’t set fire to anything and there’s plenty of space around it.

To the right I have a huuuge pinboard which used to be covered in posters years ago but these days I keep it quite bare. It’s nice to know I have the option of turning my desk to face the pinboard and using it as a mood board or inspiration board.

I found an article over on Lauren Conrad’s blog on keeping your desk tidy. Follow these tips and your desk will look ship-shape in no time!

1. Clear the clutter weekly.

2. Find storage solutions that suit you.

3. Keep cords out of sight.

4. Pick pretty stationary (I’m a fan of this one in particular!)

5. Accessorise.

6. Make an inspiration board.

To read the article in its entirety click here.

I hope you enjoyed reading this post and seeing a mini tour of my desk. Let me know how you like to keep yours organised!

Chanelle x

11 thoughts on “Desk Organisation

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.