Battle of the Red Lipsticks

It’s no secret that red lipstick isn’t my favourite to wear. Certain shades age me and make my skin look paler than it really is. Over the past week or so I have been testing the red lipsticks in my collection to work out which shades I enjoy. I wore the same base makeup and eyeshadow to keep the test fair and I discovered I definitely need to wear bronzer and blush when I wear red lipstick which I can get away without wearing with other lipstick colours. Currently I have seven red lipsticks. Raspberry reds and berry shades are not included but perhaps that’s a post for me to consider in the new year.

1. Revlon – Fire & Ice

Fire & Ice was the first red lipstick I got. This is one of Revlon’s iconic shades and it is a little unusual because it is a neutral red that is warm and cool at the same time. Fire & Ice is such a beautiful colour and depending on the makeup you pair it with can look more tomato red or more pink red. The formula is a creme and it’s very comfortable on the lips and easy to apply. You don’t need a lip liner with this shade and the lasting power is good despite the formula not being matte. It won’t end up on your teeth or fade drastically throughout the day. I don’t pull this shade out all the time but I enjoy it when I do.

2. MAC – Ruby Woo

Ruby Woo is one of the most coveted shades of red lipstick. Basically the hype is real and worth it if you’re looking for one great red for your collection. This shade suits just about anybody and is kind of like an old hollywood, glam red. Roby Woo looks like red velvet on the lips and I think if I could have only keep one red it would be this one! The lasting power is excellent and the formula is not drying if you apply balm underneath first.

3. Revlon – Wild Watermelon

The swatch makes this shade look more pink than red because of the sheer formula but on the lips Wild Watermelon definitely leans red. I love this colour during the warmer months and the glossy, shiny formula makes lips look soft and juicy. If you suffer with dry lips this formula is lovely too. If you’re looking for more wearable reds or more of a stain you will like this one. Revlon don’t make lip butters anymore but they are still out there if you search. As this is a lighter red it will wear away gracefully and is easy to re-apply.

4. Bourjois – Cherry My Cherie

I picked up this lipstick for about $8 last year but I just don’t reach for it very often. As the name suggests this is a beautiful cherry red and the formula is really soft and comfortable to wear. When I swatched the lipsticks Cherry My Cherie looks very similar to Ruby Woo by MAC. I would say if you’re looking for a cheaper version of Ruby Woo or you don’t like the Retro Matte formula this is a good alternative. I will be saying goodbye to this lipstick purely because I don’t need this and Ruby Woo. Ruby Woo has less transfer throughout the day due to its formula and I don’t mind applying balm underneath to get the shade to glide on.

5. xoBeauty – Kairos

Kairos is a product I featured in the Shopping My Stash post in July and I have been going back and forth about whether to keep it or not ever since. Before I started writing this post I tried the lipstick on and was convinced I wasn’t going to keep it. Whilst I can appreciate the pretty muted coral-red tones I didn’t love how it looked and think it would look better on light-medium skintones as opposed to my fair skin. As I began writing this post I started second guessing myself and now I want to wear the shade again with a full face of makeup and play up the pink tones with blush and highlighter to see if that changes my opinion. The colour is gorgeous and the matte formula is soft and comfortable so I don’t have an issue with the product but I’m not sure it’s the most flattering shade on me. I’ll keep you posted about this one!

6. YSL – Rouge Pur Couture #1

I got this mini as part of a YSL set and the best way I can think to describe the shade is like a cross between Fire & Ice and Ruby Woo. The formula is reminiscent of Fire & Ice and doesn’t slip and slide but the colour is a touch darker and more closer in tone Ruby Woo. I like the mini size and smaller bullet as it makes mistakes less likely during application and the bullet is angled to fit the shape of the lips. The plastic packaging feels cheap but I can live with that as the product inside is good.

7. xoBeauty – Impavid

This is the newest red in my collection, I have only had it for a little over week but I am a fan already. I absolutely adore the xoBeauty liquid lipstick formula and I thought it would be interesting to try as reds are notoriously difficult to apply. Impavid is a deep, rich, cool toned red that makes your teeth look white and is one of the darker reds in this bunch. I’m looking forward to wearing this one more and possibly being able to retire a few of my other reds if this proves to be my perfect red.

Swatches:

Left to right: Fire & Ice, Ruby Woo, Wild Watermelon, Cherry My Cherie, Kairos, Rouge Pur Couture #1 and Impavid.


What’s your favourite red lipstick? How many do you own?

Out of the seven reds I’m keeping five, passing one on and undecided about the other.

signature_59rnt66ifetkuap2w9

Follow me:

Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

35 thoughts on “Battle of the Red Lipsticks

  1. Erica says:

    Oh, love this post! I’ve always wanted to try Fire & Ice or Ruby Woo, but I’ve been so cautious with red lipsticks and have never found a shade that really works for my skin tone. I tend to lean more berry when I want something reddish.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. stashy says:

    You have such iconic shades of red lipsticks!
    I rarely wear red lipsticks because most red lipstick formulas are matte and I’m not a big fan of the feeling on my lips. I prefer creamy slippy feeling lipsticks. I did create my own red shade at the Bite Beauty lab though! Maybe I should wear it again for the holidays.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rossy Galaxy says:

    Wow they’re all beautiful! Ruby woo is definitely gorgeous! I dont remember how many I own now since I’ve decluttered a bunch in the past 10 months or so lol. I cant really choose a favorite either because each shade and formula and finish is different than the others 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hollie George says:

    I love a red lip, it always makes me feel super glam and confident haha. All of these shades are really pretty! I’ve never tried Ruby Woo but know it’s highly raved about, definitely need to give it a go 😊 My all time favourite red lipstick is Red Carpet Red by Charlotte Tilbury, it’s a gorgeous colour 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hunida says:

    Ooo, I love that shot you got of all the lippies standing up. Ruby Woo is such a pretty & popular shade, I can totally see why you would throw out the Bourjois. I had a pack of those YSL minis, too, but I ended up throwing them all out in a declutter. They were always so slippy for me!

    Super fun post, Chanelle! My favorite red lipstick I own is the Illamasqua on I always rave about. I’m not sure how many in total I have! I’ll have to count sometime. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  6. chloeburford says:

    I get so scared of wearing bold lipsticks, it’s so weird as I’ve bought a few gorg bold lipsticks but always had red lipstick fear hahaha incase it doesn’t suit me! Maybe I need to take the plunge as these look beautiful!! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chanelle says:

      Red can be scary, brighter bold shades tend to be my favourite as they are more fun and colourful! My advice if you want to try a red is to go for a more classic tone like Ruby Woo or Russian Red by MAC or if you’re looking for a more comfortable formula YSL Rouge Pur Couture #1 is really pretty ❤

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.