Updated: My Blog Planner

One of the biggest aspects to blogging is planning and scheduling posts. I like planning and being organised so I find it fun to sit down and look at the month ahead and pencil posts in.

In March 2016, I gave you a look Inside My Blog Planner. I also explained how I use Microsoft Excel alongside my notebook. Since then the way I plan has changed slightly. I wanted to show you how and explain the reasons behind the change.

Towards the end of 2016 and the first few months of 2017 my posts weren’t as regular as they had been. There were a few different factors: I recently entered into a relationship, my mum was seriously ill and my work hours increased. It wasn’t until March/April 2017 that I got back into a routine and wanted to start committing to blogging again.

I now use an A5 notebook instead of an A4. I no longer use one page for each week of posts. I have a double page spread, on the left hand page I list the dates of each Tuesday and Thursday in the month (these are my posting days) and then I can fill in from there. Generally the first post in a month is my daily highlights from my gratitude journal and the last is my monthly favourites. I then look at the dates and think about seasonal or timely posts or any special occasions I have coming up. I write between 8-10 posts a month and a month can fill up surprisingly quickly. (When I posted three times a week it was closer to 13 posts per month!)

On the right hand page I jot down notes that relate to posts on the left hand side. For example, I’ll jot down songs for monthly playlists and keep track of favourites so I remember to mention them. It also means I can look back at previous favourites so I’m not talking about the same products over and over again.

I still use a colour coding system. Page headings are written in pink, post dates are written in red, post titles/ideas are written in blue and planning notes on the right hand page are written in purple.

Here you can see how I lay out the pages and my colour coding system.

Excel used to be a big part of the planning process but I no longer use it to plan. It’s much easier to have everything in one place and written on pages adjacent to each other. I also don’t have to worry about unsaved changes or forgetting to update my spreadsheet. I’m a pen and paper planner rather than a digital planner.

Weekly blog views are now recorded in my Filofax. There is a notes section in the monthly layout. Monthly views are also recorded in the same column.

I hope you enjoyed seeing how my planning has evolved! How do you plan for blog posts?

signature_59rnt66ifetkuap2w9

Follow me:

Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

29 thoughts on “Updated: My Blog Planner

  1. lifeofangela says:

    I love your planner! I still have a weird system where I just use a powerpoint calendar πŸ˜‚ It’s good though, since I scribble lots and cross things out everywhere. If I wrote it down somewhere physical, it would be such a mess πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. petitechai says:

    This post has inspired me to start planning my own posts-I don’t get posts done a lot of the time cause I try to sit down and write one off the top of my head. Sometimes it works, but mostly I give up and forget to post. Must start doing this

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chanelle says:

      I have a bunch of the A4 and A5 notebooks, they have many uses and always have nice patterns and designs on the cover. There’s a pocket to tuck papers in too! This is easy which makes me want to stick with it, it’s fuss free and doesn’t take up a lot of time πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Lauren says:

    I use the calendar app on my Mac as it syncs up with my iPad and iPhone which makes keeping track of everything so much easier and means I can easily switch posts around. I’ve started keeping a written planner too but it’s early days so we’ll see how it goes for me lol

    Liked by 1 person

  4. danniijane says:

    Aaw I love your notepadπŸ’• I hand write my notes down and what posts for what dates. I often schedule them in thinking I can do loads of posts per week and I never have time to do too manyπŸ™ˆ I end up juggling them around. It is easy to fill up blog posts! I do set ones like favourites etc and then I realise that once I’ve done them, there’s many slots for other posts. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

