Social Media Changes

One of my resolutions for 2017 is to cut down on social media. I’m not someone who uses every type of social media (and there’s nothing wrong if you do) but I have my preferences and want to use the ones I enjoy more wisely. It seems like the right time to organise and tidy up my online presence. Social media and blogging go hand in hand and it’s only right I update you with where you’ll be able to find me from now on.

1. Facebook

After much deliberation I have decided to delete the Chanelle Hayley Facebook page. The page has always been the least popular of my social media. I don’t use the page apart from sharing blog post links and some photos from Instagram. The blog post links will still be shared on Twitter and if you follow me on Instagram you see my pictures anyway.

2. Pinterest

I’m not deleting Pinterest but I will be removing my blog link from my profile and will no longer have a board for my blog posts. I don’t visit Pinterest very often and would rather keep it for inspiration, creative purposes and personal use. You’ll still be able to see my other boards and any new pins.

3. Twitter

I had @ChanelleTheSats as my username for over 5 years. Needless to say I was very attached but I felt like it was time for a change and I wanted to make it similar to my blog and Instagram names. My username is now @chanellehayley_ so feel free to pop over and tweet hello!

4. Instagram

My Instagram account isn’t undergoing any major changes. I don’t have any Insta rules as such, I post when I like and what I like and I don’t have a theme. I am trying to reach 300 followers by the end of 2017 and I’m almost there. If you don’t follow me yet, you can do so HERE. Leave your username in the comments and I’ll follow you back.

5. Last but not least, YouTube?

For the past year I have been contemplating starting a YouTube channel. At the moment it’s not something on my immediate to do list but I have pros and cons that I wanted to share and hear your thoughts on.

Pros:

  • Some things are easier to show on camera than describe with words, e.g makeup.
  • I get to try something new and learn new skills.
  • I enjoy watching YouTube videos and seeing other blog friends branch out into video.

Cons:

  • I’m RIDICULOUSLY camera shy. It took me years to be comfortable with selfies.
  • I don’t have a DSLR or any equipment to film with.
  • Some weeks I find it hard to find time for the blog so I wouldn’t want the channel to go downhill. I’m the type of person who likes to do things to a high standard and I aim for perfection. If I’m going to commit to it I want to be able to keep it up.

Are we connected on social media? What social media do you use and do you have a favourite?

P.S. Have you taken my blog survey yet? *CLICK HERE* to do so.

signature_59rnt66ifetkuap2w9

Follow me:

Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

24 thoughts on “Social Media Changes

  1. lifeofangela says:

    I considered making a Facebook page for my blog, but I didn’t quite see the point in it. Plus lots of people like blogging anonymously so they may not want to have to use their personal facebook account to like a page. I barely use my Insta for my blog either 😂 I don’t know how to use social media to promote my blog, I view them as kinda separate, except that I follow the same people on both pretty much 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chanelle says:

      Fair point about the Facebook page. I mainly use Instagram for personal reasons but I follows lots of my blogging friends, gives you more to talk about and helps you get to know them better 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. starringpamela says:

    I barely use my blog Facebook page. The only reason I have it is because I wanted a “business” account for Instagram. And the only reason I wanted that is because I was offered one as I’m connected to another business online, I didn’t even really know that was an option beforehand! I rarely use my social media for my blog, and it surprises me that I get quite a bit of traffic from Twitter since I hardly ever tweet anything but the automated blog links. Social media is a strange thing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. stashy says:

    Thanks for the updates! 🙂
    I dislike FB so much, I never go on it and I just don’t care but I’ll leave it alone. I log in maybe once a month, if that!
    Noted on your new Twitter! Will follow pronto. 🙂
    I’d say YT isn’t for everyone. I know lots of people are joining just because… it’s the thing to do? Do you film any IG Stories? Maybe dip your toes there to film a few seconds. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chanelle says:

      I dislike my personal Facebook too. I only keep it because it’s handy to keep in touch with certain people and it can be helpful for research lol 😛
      I’m still leaning towards not doing YouTube. I think if I was working less and had time it would appeal more. I’ve filmed one Instagram story, I’m slowly getting into that side of things. Thanks for your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lauren says:

    Twitter and Instagram are what I use the most for my blog and my blog’s FB page is mostly for just sharing blogpost links occasionally. I’ve been using my SnapChat a lot for my blog lately too

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Siyana says:

    I’ve never used Facebook for promoting my blog, so I absolutely get you 😀 Also, the youtube channel… ahh I want to start one too, but just like you I’m a bit camera shy and can’t stand my voice 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chanelle says:

      I don’t find Facebook useful unless you’ve got a big following. I’ve heard plenty of people say they get used to listening to their voices but I’m still not sure at this stage if I will start a channel or not. Thanks for your comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. crystalsandcurls says:

    I agree with you on pretty much all of these; Pinterest is literally just a place for tattoo ideas for me so blog promotion seems pointless. Don’t really know how to use Facebook in all honesty . . . the best thing, I guess, would be Instagram – but I can’t even use that properly xD BTW in terms of your Youtube channel, maybe look at your initial few videos as practice runs – learning to edit and film before investing 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chanelle says:

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts! That’s a really good idea I could trial run a couple of videos before I upload. At the moment I’m still leaning towards investing in a DSLR and using it for beautiful photos 🙂

      Like

  7. Rachael Styles - Helpless Whilst Drying says:

    I’m quite like you with Youtube, I want to do it – but I want time to do it well, I don’t want it to be something that I do then take breaks from for months until I have time to do it again! I’ve filmed three videos (1 vlog, 2 sit down videos) last summer as an experiment but never uploaded them as I didn’t have time to edit them! do a few trial runs if you’re unsure!
    Have you thought about using instastories? It might help you get feeling comfortable in front of a camera and talking to it, plus it’s only up for a short amount of time before it’s gone!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chanelle says:

      I’d film trial videos first too. At the moment time is one of my biggest issues. Someone else suggested Instastories too. I’m still learning how to use that and have to remind myself to watch other people’s lol x

      Like

  8. alwaysblushingblog says:

    This was a really interesting post! I can see the advantages and disadvantages of social media, most of the time it can be fun but it can get a bit suffocating sometimes with too many platforms! My insta is @alwaysblushingblog feel free to follow back 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

